h1

Apple Pecan Coffee Cake

June 8, 2011

There’s a cinnamon coffee cake that you can get at one of my favorite coffee shops near home. The other morning I was missing home, so I thought I’d mix up a coffee cake of my own with some apples I recently got through my farm share. In my hunt for ideas, I adapted the following from a Deen family recipe. I think you’ll really like this one!

You will need:

  • 1 1/4 c vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 c sugar
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 t almond extract
  • 2 t cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • Scant 3 1/4 c flour3 apples, diced
  • 1 c pecans, toasted and chopped
  • 1 c powdered sugar
  • 2 T honey
  • 2-3 T milk

Then you…

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 and lightly grease a Bundt pan.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, beat together the oil, eggs and sugar.
  3. Whisk in the extracts, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda and salt.
  4. Whisk in the flour until well combined.
  5. Gently stir in the chopped apples and nuts.
  6. Spread batter into the prepared pan and bake for approx. 90 minutes (tester in middle should come out clean).
  7. Allow coffee cake to cool in the pan for an hour before removing and cooling completely.
  8. In a small bowl, combine the powdered sugar with the honey and milk. Adjust the milk amount until the glaze is a drizzling consistency.
  9. Drizzle to taste!

NOTE: May be refrigerated for up to 3-5 days (if it lasts that long!)

One comment

  1. This looks delish…YUM.



Leave a Reply

