h1

Toasted Edamame

August 5, 2010

I was recently in California for a wedding, where I spent a night in Santa Monica. A friend recommended a bar/restaurant near my hotel that she raved about, so I checked it out. One of the dishes was a toasted edamame that was glazed with white miso and garlic, and I couldn’t get enough of it! In fact, I almost ordered a second batch to take back to the hotel with me at the end of my meal. I’ve been muddling over the dish since I got back from my trip and came up with this approximation!

You will need…

  • 1/2 bag frozen edamame (in shells)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 1/2 T garlic, minced
  • 4 T white miso paste
  • Salted water (to cook the edamame and add to “sauce”)

Then you…

  1. Bring the water to a boil in a large pot.  Add the frozen edamame and boil for about 3 minutes.
  2. In a large skillet, heat the olive oil. Toss the parboiled edamame in the oil and toast over medium heat for another minute or so.
  3. Add the garlic and miso paste to the skillet. Toss to coat the edamame. Add a couple of spoonfuls of the cooking water, and allow the mixture to cook until heated through.

Leave a Reply

