h1

Heat

January 11, 2010

When I am not cooking, I am often reading.  Why?  Because I like it!  Ha!  Usually I am reading something passed along via a friend or mentioned elsewhere.  If I am too busy when I hear about an interesting book, I’ll jot down the title in a notebook and wait till the next holiday or birthday when I have some time off.  My brother is a particularly tough critic of reading material; nothing fluffy for him, yet even he was intrigued by one of the books on my list this Christmas.

Bill Buford recently published a memoir called Heat: An Amateur’s Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany.  It many ways it reminds me of the saying “will work for food.”  After an encounter with Mario Batali, he ends up in the kitchen of Babbo — one of Batali’s restaurants.  The book chronicles Buford’s experiences both there and in Italy as he discovers the world of a chef and cook.  I really enjoyed his personal stories mixed in with those of his interactions with Batali.  The foodie in me really liked it.  Check it out…at the very least it’s an entertaining glimpse behind the doors to the kitchen restaurant.  While it might not be as dramatic as Hell’s Kitchen, it will certainly keep you reading!

Leave a Reply

