h1

Fig & Raspberry Tart

September 7, 2009

I was at Whole Foods yesterday on my way back from camping in Harpers Ferry.  There was a huuuuuge sale on some of the fresh fruit, and the raspberries and figs were calling to me.  This morning as I was lazing around the apartment, I decided I wanted to put them to good use.  That’s when I remembered a post on my friend’s blog (http://www.macheesmo.com/2009/08/fresh-fig-tart/).  Being a little sleepy, I decided to stick basically to his recipe with a few tweaks.  Here’s how it came out!

Fig & Raspberry Tart

Fig & Raspberry Tart

You’ll need:

  • 1 crust (I used a store bought refrigerated one!)
  • 8-10 fresh figs, cut into sixths
  • 6 ounces (approximately) of fresh raspberries
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 cup reduced-fat ricotta cheese
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg

Then you…

  1. Bake the pie crust in a tart or pie pan.  Be sure to prick the bottom with a fork; this will keep it from getting all puffy and uneven.  Bake it for about 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees, or until golden brown.  Cool it completely!
  2. While the crust is cooling, whip the cream until gently stiff.  Add in the ricotta, sugar, honey, vanilla and spices; gently stirring or whisking them together.  Pour into the cooled crust.  Top with the fruit and drizzle with a little honey!  Be ready to impress 🙂
From the Top!

From the Top!

Leave a Reply

